Who Is the Midland County Broadband Committee? Staff Update and Renaming Announced

The Midland County Internet Connectivity Committee, formerly known as the Midland County Broadband Committee, is pleased to announce that the Midland Business Alliance (MBA) now has a staff member dedicated to the project: Tina Lynch.

The mission of the committee is to provide high-speed internet in Midland County which is critical for our community to thrive. The goal is to provide all Midland County households, businesses and schools with access to affordable, quality broadband. Beginning with northern Midland County, we will work with industry experts to identify high-priority areas and cost-efficient measures to deliver high-speed internet to significant portions of the population helping to close the digital divide.

 Full-Time Staff Member Dedicated to Project

In late 2021, the Midland County Board of Commissioners approved $250,000 in American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds to go to the MBA to support broadband initiatives. Stamas appointed MBA staff member Tina Lynch to a newly created role to support these efforts. Lynch has been an integral part of the MBA team since 2013, leading programs such as Midland Blooms, WakeUp! Midland and Global Networking as well as economic and workforce development efforts. Her new title will be Director of Broadband Initiatives.

“We are excited to have Tina in this critical role,” MBA President and CEO Tony Stamas said. “She has been a valuable member of our team and is the right person to continue moving the project forward. Making sure everyone in Midland County has access to affordable high-speed internet is crucial for both business and households.”

 Members of the Committee
The committee is a collaboration between the MBA, Midland Area Community Foundation (MACF), Midland County and other community representatives. It includes:

  • Chris Cantrell, Midland County
  • Bridgette Gransden, Midland County
  • Terri Johnson, Greater Midland
  • Helen Myers, Dow Retiree/Community Volunteer
  • Sharon Mortensen, Midland Area Community Foundation
  • Jonathan Myers, Midland County Road Commission
  • Tim Dempsey, Public Sector Consultants
  • Heather Gallegos, Dow
  • James Mallory, Midland County ESA
  • Jack Robinson, Dow Retiree/Community Volunteer
  • Jenny Bruzewski, Midland Business Alliance
  • Tina Lynch, Midland Business Alliance
  • Tony Stamas, Midland Business Alliance

What’s Next?
Stay tuned for additional updates from the committee as it identifies projects and targeted areas of need within Midland County.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux